MASSACHUSETTS AREA PARANORMAL SOCIETY
MASSACHUSETTS AREA PARANORMAL SOCIETY
Below, you can find "snippets" from most of our investigations, dating back to 2009. The full summaries can be found in the sidebar to the right.
March 30, 2018 - Jerusalem Road, Cohasset, Ma.
The weather couldn't have been more perfect for a haunting New England ghost story Picture yourself alone in your massive four story home across from the treacherous sea in Cohasset. The powerful winds were howling while sending surrounding trees smashing to the saturated ground below. The Nor'easter of 2018 won't soon be forgotten, due to the lengthy power outages, crumbling sea walls and general devastation to the area. Massachusetts had been declared a State of Emergency...
February 4, 2018 - Haunted City of St. Augustine, Florida
The M.A.P.S. Team was fortunate enough to visit numerous haunted sites on their recent trip to St. Augustine. The City is rich with an abundance of history as well as paranormal activity. To share our experiences, please see additional information in the sidebar of our website.
Friday, July 15, 2016 - 989 Central Street,East Bridgewater
The M.A.P.S. Team was eager to explore the old red farm house which had intrigued us for many years. It was built in 1820 and was situated on 13 acres of lush green, picturesque land. At one time it had an attached barn, which burned to the ground in 1960. This old homestead seemed to welcome us as we stepped up upon the covered veranda. Robert and Carol greeted us at the door and immediately proceeded to give us a tour of the home which was in the process of renovation. We were informed of various claims of unexplainable activity. It was not unusual for the residents to hear strange noises such as banging, whispers and footsteps. Shadows were seen moving across the front room. Frequently the shadow of a young girl was seen exiting the closet. The family had referred to her as "Emily". (Please see 989 Central Street, East Bridgewater, at sidebar to the right).
Friday, January 23, 2015 - East Bridgewater Apartments
After a few weeks of close communication with tenants living in this delightful old Victorian, in East Bridgewater, Ma, the M.A.P.S. Team was called in to investigate. The home was built in 1835. It was owned by three generations of the prominent Latham family. Since that time, this home had been used as a boarding house and a dairy farm. It is presently divided into beautiful apartments. Tenants in two apartments, as well as a previous occupant had been experiencing strange activities. (Please see E. Bridgewater Apartments at sidebar to the right.)
Friday, February 7, 2014 - Private Whitman Residence (#2)
Freshly fallen snow crunched beneath our feet as we entered this Circa 1900's New England Colonial in Whitman, Ma. The property was originally owned by Nettie and Nellie Morse. (In 1906) Since that time, many families have enjoyed this home. The present family has resided there since 1972. Following the unexpected death of a loved one, family members had experienced the feeling of a familiar presence in their home. (Please see Whitman Home at the sidebar to the right.)
Saturday, August 24, 2013 - South Ave Residence #2
The property was previously owned by the prominent Randall Cook family, who conducted an old fashioned general store at this location in East Whitman, since the early 1860's. They were direct descendants of the Mayflower, and were leading citizens, who took much interest in town affairs. Numerous men from the Cook family were actively employed by the Whitman National Bank and were loyal members of the Puritan Lodge of Masons. (Please see 396 S. Ave. Whitman at sidebar to right.)
Saturday, September 29, 2012 - Whitman American Legion
Located on Legion Parkway, the Whitman Post #22 received its permanent charter in July of 1921. The official name, Whitman American Legion #22 was adopted in 1923, and the area surrounding the hall was known as Memorial Field. In 1925, the WWl Memorial Arch was constructed as the entrance to Memorial Field. (Please see Whitman Post #22 to right.)
Saturday, September 1, 2012 - Rocky Marciano's home
The M.A.P.S. Team was excited to be called in for our first investigation in the City of Champions. (Brockton, Ma.) The home which was built in 1914 was located at 168 Dover Street, across from the James Edgar Playground. It was an attractive two family home which bore the distinction of being Rocky Marciano's childhood home according to the plaque proudly displayed on the exterior of the residence. The current owner has preserved his home as it would have been in the 1950's. (Please see Rocky Marciano at sidebar to right.)
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - South Ave Residence #1, Whitman, MA
The sounds of crickets and peepers were evident as we approached this multi family home in Whitman, Ma. We had previously been informed by the residents of many unusual occurrences, which they had both experienced. Since the home was under new ownership, they wondered if this could attribute to the increase in activity. It was common for them to hear footsteps going up and down the basement stairs during daylight as well as evening hours. (Please see South Ave, Whitman at sidebar to right.)
Sunday, July 27, 2012 - Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak bluffs is a charming picturesque seaside community. It is 1 of the 3 "down island " towns. In the 1880's, it was referred to as Cottage City. Because of its popularity, the name was changed to Oak Bluffs in 1907. Originally, the Campground was situated in a grove of towering oak trees. Appreciating the beauty of the environment, the Methodists flocked to this tranquil area and set up tents. The grove became home to their many religious retreats. Shortly thereafter, the tents were replaced by many charming, elaborately decorated wooden cottages which still stand today delighting all who explore the winding paths and Victorian flavor of yesteryear. During the daylight hours, these cottages are a feast to the eyes with their shocking array of colors and bright overflowing windowboxes. The evening however, casts a totally different almost eerie feeling of mystery and anticipation. Winding paths are engulfed with shadowing trees and the soft glow of interior lights seem to entice passerbys to peek in for a glimpse of days gone by. (Please see sidebar to right.)
Thursday, Feb, 16, 2012 - Civil War Haunting, East Bridgewater
Calvin Harlow purchased his home (originally built in 1828) on Feb. 12, 1857 from Mr. James Josselyn. Harlow was employed by Carver Cotton Gin, which is located at the opposite end of the street from his home. Calvin passed in his home on August 27, 1896. His wife, Eliza (Packard) Harlow also passed in their home on Feb. 16, 1899. Recently, one of the present homeowners visited the M.A.P.S. headquarters, which is located at Mrs. Swift's & Moore Antiques. She informed Lorrie of paranormal activity which continues to haunt their family. (For more info. please see sidebar to the right.)
Friday, July 29th, 2011 - Public Investigation
Energy was high as our guests began to arrive. Anticipating their first paranormal investigation with the M.A.P.S. Team were 13 excited investigators from surrounding towns. Many had heard about the occurring activities at the Carver Cotton Gin over the years and were anxious to explore on their own. After an introduction and history of the Cotton Gin by Wayne Nye, Roy welcomed the group and told us some of his experiences. As we separated into three groups, eyes widened while we headed to various areas of the dark, massive factory. Guests eagerly snapped pictures and experimented with EVP and EMF detectors. None of the brave investigators were apprehensive about trying out equipment in the dark attics and basements of the building. Many stories and much laughter were enjoyed throughout the evening.
Sunday, July 17th, 2011 - Fairfield Hills Asylum
On June 10, 1931, the cornerstone was laid for the Fairfield State Hospital. At that time many area residents opposed its location. Sixteen buildings were situated on 100 acres of land, surrounded by 670 additional acres. In the later 1940's and 50's more buildings were added. Most were built of red brick in a colonial style. When it first opened on June 1, 1933, there were only 3 Doctors and less than 500 patients. More than 4,000 patients, 20 Doctors, 50 nurses and additional staff occupied the facility in the late 1960's.(For more information, see sidebar to right.)
Saturday, July 16, 2011 - "Warrenology" Event
Lorraine Warren presents a delightful evening referred to as the "Warrenology Event" with the help of her son inlaw Tony Spera. Upon arrival, guests were permitted to explore throughout the yard at their leisure. Lorraine had designed her own home which was constructed on 7 levels. A very informative and interesting session was held on the porch , shaded by trees. We surrounded Lorraine as if we were a group of young children waiting for a story to be told. The M.A.P.S. Team, as well as the other guests were eager to ask questions and just listen to the fascinating experiences of Lorraine and Ed, the original Ghost Hunters of the 1970's.(For more info, see "Lorraine Warren Event" to right...)
Saturday, June 27th, 2011 - Concord, MA
Located in Monument Square in the quaint New England Village of Concord, is the gracious Colonial Inn. Originally built in 1716, it was later used as a private residence for the Minot family. Capt. Minot was a soldier and physician during the Revolutionary War. Part of the structure was used to store arms and ammunition. At that time, the British attempted to steal and destroy the stored supplies. The first battle of the Revolutionary War took place at North Bridge on April 19, 1775. Dr. Timothy Minot attended to many wounded soldiers. In 1889, with the addition of two other buildings, the structure became a well known Inn. The Inn played an important part in history. The area was also the home of many famous characters of literature, such as Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau.( For more, see "Colonial Inn" to right...)
Thursday, May 5, 2011 - Union St. East Bridgewater
On April 9, 1884, Isaac N. Nutter sold a 1/4 acre lot on the down slope of Union Street opposite Forge Pond to Mrs. Harriet R. Mallory, widow of Aaron Mallory. It was on this parcel in May, 1884 that Fred P. Whitmarsh built this capacious Federal Style home. (See Union St. East Bridgewater to right.)
Saturday, April 30th, 2011 - Slater Mill
With reservations in place, the M.A.P.S. Team looked forward to our participation in the Historic Ghost Tour of Slater Mill. The Mill was built in 1793 by Samuel Slater, who saw his dream materalize as the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution in America. Slater Mill was built along the rapidly flowing Blackstone River in Pawtucket, R. I. (For more see "Slater Mill" at right...)
Sunday, March 20th, 2011 - Hoosac Tunnel
The Hoosac Tunnel is a railroad tunnel measuring 4.75 miles long which connects one valley to another. It is located in the Western part of the state in a mountainous area where Ma, N.Y, and Vermont meet. Hoosac is an old Native American name which means "people of the long house." It was in the early 1800's that manufacturers realized they needed some way to ship goods from Boston to Western Ma. and on to the midwest. In 1848, Troy and Greenfield Railroad showed a deep interest in tunneling their way through nearly 5 miles of mountainous terrain. This monumental task was hindered by the fact that heavy equipment did not yet exist, and all work had to be done manually. See "Hoosac Tunnel" to right...
Sunday, March 20th, 2011 - Charlemont Inn
The historic Charlemont Inn is located in Eastern Berkshire Valley, along the Mohawk Trail. It was built in 1787 and has in the past lodged such notables as Mark Twain, Calvin Coolidge and Benedict Arnold. See Charlemont Inn to right......
Saturday, February 5th, 2011 - John F. Craig House
Members of the M.A.P.S Team were fortunate enough to experiece a return visit to this fabulous old Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The furnishings are elegant, the food to die for, and best of all, the John F. Craig house has an abundance of positive energy. We, as well as the other guests, were graciously welcomed by Barbara and Chip, the Innkeepers. (See John F. Craig house on the right for more info).
Saturday, October 24, 2010 - Norton Residence
This stately Victorian was built circa 1888. It had been the home of six families since it was first built by the original owner Mr. Otis B. Crossman. He was a jeweler who married Mary N. Baldwin on April 10, 1882. Together, they had a daughter Ada.
Upon arrival, the M.A.P.S. Team was cordially welcomed into this charming home. It was as though we had just entered a cozy, candlelit Bed and Breakfast with glowing fireplaces in every room, rather than it being the site of our paranormal investigation. (See "Norton Residence" in sidebar for more...)
Sunday, June 13, 2010 - Camp Kiwanee
It felt as though a veil of tranquility descended upon the M.A.P.S. Team as we entered the tree lined winding road leading to Needles Lodge. History tells us that this whole magnificent area was once inhabited by Native Americans. (Please see "Camp Kiwanee" to the right.)
June 6, 2010 - Hull Residence
Due to the urgency of this call, it was not possible to conduct extensive research on this property. The M.A.P.S. Team did learn however, that in 1903 the site of this Hull home was a vacant lot. In 1903, A.L. Jewell was the owner of the entire corner lot where this family now resides. For more on this investigation click on the tab to the right entitled Hull house.
Sat, March 27,2010 - Whitman Residence
On June 16, 1892, Cordelia E. Whidden, in consideration of $250.00, sold to Preston G. Barker of East Bridgewater, Mass. the land on which this house now stands. In January of 1893, Frank M. Bradford and his family moved into this newly built home. The family included his wife Julia (Lockwood) Bradford, Daniel Bradford, his father, and children, Nina, Mary, Roy and Ollie. Roy Bradford was a Freemason and Worshipful Master (in 1915) with Puritan Lodge A.F.& A.M. Whitman, Mass. Julia passed away in the family home on Oct.14, 1919 at 62 yrs. of age. In Oct. of 1921, Preston G. Barker sold the home to Roy Merton Williams and his wife Rose Manetta (Horgan) Perry. They resided there with their family members which included Harry L. Perry, Shirley Williams, and Roses' sister Dorothy Rupertta Horgan. Roses' mother, Effie Grace (Bishop) Horgan lived in the home for several months before she passed away on March 16, 1926. She was 61 years old. Rose operated the Rose Williams Dress Shop, located at 370 South Ave. Whitman, Mass. from 1934-1965. She was a well known figure in town, and was frequently seen driving through Whitman in her brand new 1955 two door pink Cadillac! The home remained in the Williams family until 1980. It was then sold to the current homeowners who have been experiencing paranormal activity for the past 30 years.
October 19, 2009 - Whitman Mother's Club
Wayne Nye, M.A.P.S. Team leader, gave the teams first Power Point Presentation to members of the Whitman Mothers' Club. Please visit the photo album, entitled " Whitman Mothers' Club". Hope you had as much fun as we did!
September, 2009 - Susan Perry Spa, Plymouth, Ma.
On September 8, 2009, the M.A.P.S. Team recently had the pleasure of investigating the delightful Susan Perry Spa located at 98 Court Street, in historic downtown Plymouth. The gracious old Greek Revival was built in 1878 by William B. Tribble. For the rest of the story and to read about our findings please click on the tab to the right entitled Susan Perry Day Spa.
July 24, 2009 - The Carver Cotton Gin, East Bridgewater, MA
After our usual briefing and a generous application of mosquito spray, we eagerly entered the historic old Carver Cotton Gin once again, anticipating whatever was in store for us. The M.A.P.S. Team was fortunate to have Roy Siminster, Manager of U-Store-It (formerly Carver Cotton Gin), as our guide for the evening as well as International Psychic Medium, Dawn Carr, who agreed to accompany us. We used our tried and true equipment: EVP recorders, EMF meters, motion, thermal detectors and digital cameras. We could almost hear the whistles blow as we meandered through the dark labyrinth of halls and corridors. Please read the rest of the review on the tab to the right "Carver Cotton Gin".
July 17, 2009 - The Old Masonic Hall, East Bridgewater,MA.
It stood proudly like a beacon in the night, as the M.A.P.S. Paranormal Team entered the gracious old Masonic Hall. In the past, this majestic structure was the center of the community. It provided a means of livelihood for many townspeople. Our guest for the evening was internationally known Psychic Medium Dawn Carr. For more on the investigation please click on " The Old Masonic Hall" to the the right of this page. To learn more about Dawn Carr and her almost too good to be true abilities please check out www.angelsofdawn.net.
July 10, 2009 - East Bridgewater Town Hall (The former Hobart Family Estate)
On Friday evening July 10, 2009, under the watchful eye of the glowing moon, the M.A.P.S. Paranormal Team and their guest, internationally known Psychic Medium Dawn Carr, were privileged to be permitted to investigate the Hobart Family Estate. With the exception of Ms. Carr and her cameraman, all team members were briefed by genealogist Wayne Nye, who researched the Hobart family members who had passed away while residing at 175 Central Street, East Bridgewater. Please read the rest of the story and our findings by clicking on E. Bridgewater Town Hall. Please check out Dawn Carr's website at .www.angelsofdawn.net/....very interesting.
On May 29, 2009 - GUEST TOUR - Carver Cotton Gin
The M.A.P.S Team and guests investigated the former historic Carver Cotton Gin building in East Bridgewater, MA. Several apparitions were caught on film and EVP recorders picked up several voices and noises. It was a very interesting night! On June 5, M.A.P.S did a follow up investigation. Once again, EVP recorders picked up several voices and noises. All investgators had personal experiences and two of our team members were chased down the hall by a black figure. Another very interesting investigation! The M.A.P.S Team would like to thank Roy for inviting us to investigate these buildings.